Food, Life, Photography

Polpo ~ fancy lunchtime tapas

Hello my old friend!

Blog time no see.

heh heh heh, I’m so funny.

Anyhoo, what better way to ease myself back into blogging that to give you a scrummy scrummy update of where I’ve been eating!

Polpo, a tapas restaurant in Farringdon (slash Clerkenwell?) is a rustic/hipster cool kinda place. Menus come printed on rusty, ‘aged’ paper – which I very generously took a picture of!

Image

As you can see the menu is fairly decently priced, typically a bit more expensive which you expect the closer central you go into London, however the menu is vast enough that there’s something at everyone’s price point.

On to the food!

As there were 3 of us for Alex ‘s (my colleague) Birthday lunch, we decided to be extra greedy and exceed the recommended at-least-two-dishes.

We went for….

Potato & Parmesan crocchette

Potato & Parmesan crocchette

Classic beef & pork

Classic beef & pork meatballs

Image

Lamb & mint meatballs

Prosciutto, mozzarella & basil bruschetta

Prosciutto, mozzarella & basil bruschetta

Tenderstem broccoli, chilli & garlic pizza

Tenderstem broccoli, chilli & garlic pizza

Image

Birthday girl!

Rabbit ragu, black olives & gnocchi

Rabbit ragu, black olives & gnocchi

Sliced flank steak, rocket & Parmesan

Sliced flank steak, rocket & Parmesan

Image

the Boss tucking into ‘his’ steak dish

Pork belly, radicchio & hazelnuts

Pork belly, radicchio & hazelnuts

Tiramisù pot

Tiramisù pot ~ just for me!

And what a lovely end to a lovely meal, to then receive a ridiculous bill!

Having chosen the restaurant, without really comprehending how much we would order, when our bill exceeded £100 I was definitely weeping.

While it was an absolutely delicious meal – I had a few niggly negatives:

  • I’d booked a table especially – and yet we were given the absolute worst table in the house! We were placed right near the kitchen counter – not fun 😦
  • I have never had such stroppy staff. While they were timely and semi-efficient, jesus, if I’m tipping you then I at least expect a smile and some manners!
  • Which leads me to my last point – we HAD to tip 12.5%. I’m okay with tipping, but I’m not okay with tipping when your service is rubbish!

All in all, I would definitely recommend the food especially if you’re in the area – the service could be overlooked if you were a little more pushy and assertive than I was. However, Clerkenwell has so many more delicious eateries at a much more budget friendly price that you wouldn’t be missing out if you didn’t pay Polpo a visit!

Standard

One thought on “Polpo ~ fancy lunchtime tapas

Leave a Reply

