Turtle head | British museum
Food, Photography

Byron Burger ~ Soho

Just a quick review and photo dump!

Post-museum hunger pangs, and some aimless wondering led us towards Byron burger in Soho for lunch.

Admittedly not our first choice to go eat – Honest burger, which is just around the corner, having the highest score for a burger joint on TripAdvisor, still manages to have a 1 hour wait during the week – wut? I say it has the highest burger-restaurant rating on TripAdvisor – but even that score was average at best.

Still, burgers we wanted. Burger and Lobster seemed a good second choice, well, before we took a minute to actually think and remember that £20 for a burger is just plain crazy.

And this is how we came to find ourselves in Byron. As it started to pour outside, Byron’s relative calm for the lunchtime hour, as well as spacious booths and the wafting scent of melted cheese was enough to entice us into the restaurant.

byron burger | soho

I have no idea why my photography is so out of focus of late!

I went for a simple classic beef burger, which comes with salad and tomato in a brioche-style bun, with a gherkin on the side. But what is that green in the middle you ask – well I couldn’t really go for a plain burger could I. I added some avocado (btw with bacon as well = amazing, but post-Christmas diet and whatnot) and my burger was thus complete.

DSC04544

Alex opted for a Byron burger, and to throw me super creepy faces while he ate. With bacon, cheese and their ‘special’ sauce – it wasn’t a bacon cheeseburger to write home about, but “I would eat it again”.

DSC04547

His friend Parker is a little on the shy side and didn’t seem too pleased when I shoved my camera in his face to take food pictures (perhaps the cause for Alex’s creepy face?), he chose to order a Chilli burger – with green chilli, American cheese, lettuce and chipotle mayonnaise. Apparently not too spicy, but with enough kick to make his beer all the more satisfying.

byron sides | soho

Iceberg wedge, courgette fries and onion rings.

Too greedy for our own good, we each ordered sides as well. I honestly could have managed without (I thought I was going to explode after my burger), but the boys were pretty hungry. Our sides included an Iceberg Wedge (with bacon bits and blue cheese dressing – nutrition what?), GIANT onion rings and courgette fries. Okay I can’t poke fun at Parker for his iceberg wedge, coz hey, after they’ve been deep-fried my fries didn’t do me much good either. But I have to note – they were the best courgette fries I’ve ever had. Dipped first in batter, it made them extra crispy and counteracted the usual sogginess courgette seems to have.

For the fries alone (plus my giant Oreo milkshake I forgot to take a picture of) I would go back to Byron. Good burgers, but nothing special!

Standard

Leave a Reply

