Life

Traffic Dos and Don’ts: A Checklist

Traffic Dos and Don’ts: A Checklist.

What better article to stumble across on my home feed, than an article tackling blog traffic, or lack of it, and how it affects your motivations to upkeep your own blog!

I should be more motivated to blog, I tell myself each day. In reality, I haven’t blogged in a while.

Why not?

It’s easy to lose motivation especially as the novelty of starting a blog has worn off.

It’s always exciting starting a new project – I wanted this blog to be a shining example of my creative ability! I wanted to proudly showcase what I was capable of, all within an internet portfolio that neatly collected my thoughts and creations. However, as I hit my double-figure posts, it became more of an effort to dedicate time to blogging.

It also becomes harder to keep motivated as you run out of fresh ideas to blog about.

Naturally, the more you blog, the more content you cover. Creating a personal blog means that my post content can range from photography to how I’m feeling that day. Covering such a variety of content means it’s difficult to track the direction of my blog and my writing. When focusing on a more specific topic I think it’s easier to know or decide what to write about next. By narrowing the theme of your blog, conversely to what you may think, by having less choice of what to write about it actually makes it a lot easier to choose what to write about next. This TED talk by Barry Schwartz is my favourite on the ‘Paradox of Choice’.

I know that my motivation and the amount of time I put into my blog are two things that eternally affect each other. If I am more motivated, I will blog more. But if I blog more (and therefore generate positive interactions), I should be more motivated.

It makes me think of an overused piece of advice regarding self-confidence – “fake it, till you make it!”

Standard

2 thoughts on “Traffic Dos and Don’ts: A Checklist

  1. Renard Moreau says:

    [ Smiles ] Have increased faith in your blogging ability; I know that you can be a highly motivated blogger.

    Lovely article!

Leave a Reply

