Life

Project Home Improvement: where has all my time gone?

Firstly, many apologies – I have sorely neglected my blogging duties! My many excuses bring me to…

Secondly, I have been neglectful due to a sudden urgency to redecorate, which seems to have infected my family.

It all started with my mother deciding that after 16 long – and extremely overdue – years, that it was time to completely overhaul the bathroom and kitchen. Setting aside two short weeks* in which builders and other various handy men would undertake the laborious task that is refitting two entire rooms.

A set-up that meant no pain, all gain – I was 100% behind it.

My mum would finally have a sparkling new kitchen that was no longer buried beneath 16 years of grime, too many neglected remnants of spices we never used and not enough un-chipped mugs.

As for the bathroom, my mother – too kind, and a little too artistic – had decided that painting our bathroom to look like an undersea adventure, complete with in-shower dolphins (which had sadly been tiled over before I could snap a pic) and my rather pathetic attempt at painting a manta-ray (I was eight years old, having not quite mastered the concept of painting something 3D in 2D), which was thankfully behind the door, and beneath a mound of dressing robes.

IMG_0225

Where art thou ugly manta-ray?

It’s funny how you never really take pictures of these rooms, like my kitchen and bathroom in their full pre-renovation glory, even just for comparison, to make the redecoration itself feel more momentous. Instead I can only give you a feel of what these rooms were like before.

IMG_3245

For the kitchen, I have even less in the way of ‘before’ photos. All I have are these two photos in which to convey to you the utterly cluttered, neglected, and extremely hot pink state the kitchen was pre-renovations.

IMG_0844

Tile-as-you-go left us with gappy, unfinished walls.
Mysteriously underused spaces underneath the worktops.

DSC01771

Hints of hot pink paint border my only photo of the kitchen! Imagine this colour, but everywhere in our kitchen. Ignore my sister.

I know, I haven’t provided you much to truly comprehend the state of either of these 2 rooms. However all I can give you, are beautiful photos of their post-makeover. That, and the knowledge that these home improvements led to a string of other increasingly more taxing renovation jobs. Yes, soon we were changing the whole living room…

Oh it doesn’t stop there, my mother has plans to re-do the bedrooms too, if only it weren’t for one minor detail – the budget. We, unfortunately, are not affluent, and with measly incomes, comes budgets. And I am the budget master. There isn’t anything I can’t organise!

And this is why I feel even more regret that I hadn’t taken any ‘before’ photos – because what I can do with £1000, they should call it a miracle. Not really, but I pretty sure I’ve made this budget stretch further than the last tea bag a week before payday. Tea is serious business for us Brits, so know this is no joke.

My aim: to simultaneously update, transform and overall make the house feel all the more put together – somewhere you can be proud to invite friends over (I haven’t done so since 2008, again no joke). So far, there has been much pinning (on Pinterest), and much googling (on Google duh) in preparation for all my little home improvement ideas. There may even be an Excel expense sheet.

For now I leave you with this update, but by weeks end I should be to share with you the progress we’ve made on the house: hopefully complete with shiny new kitchen and bathroom! In another post I’ll also give you more of an update over my DIY adventures (yes DIY has happened).

Until then…

*I can verify that now I am in those two weeks, they feel anything but short.

Standard

Leave a Reply

