Zucchini fritters - definite yum yum!

Zucchini fritters – definite yum yum!

Last week, I was bestowed upon a huge courgette (which sadly in all my excitement I didn’t take a picture of), but imagine this thing was huge. Like the size of my thigh – okay it was smaller, but not by much.

Blessed with this large courgette, I figured I have to make the most of it, and practically bake it into everything! Ergo fritters, bread, breaded chips, salads – you name it!

But with all this baking, I was taken back to a recipe we used at camp. This was back when I decided to spend the summer looking after mischievous kiddies from NYC who’d never seen grass. Or a lake. Or just any wild outdoor space. And one of the activities that we did with down at the camp’s farm, was bake zucchini cookies.

photo

My first group of campers, fellow counsellors and I.

Now when I first heard of these, as an Englishman, I was immediately repulsed, naturally. But powering through, pretending to be excited about the prospect of vegetable cookies just so as to trick the kiddies into believing so themselves, I was pleasantly surprised.

Unlike a regular cookie, or biscuit in England, these courgette cookies are light and almost cake-like. More reminiscent of a muffin top (not the overhanging trouser-fat kind), these cookies are delicious paired with a sprinkling of chocolate chips melting inside its fluffy, doughy cake-ness.

I’d found a relatively easy recipe online and set upon straining this juicy, steroid-pumped courgette ready for cookies! *There were no steroids really, just lots of loving kindness which helped it grow to its Hulk resembling size.

My boyfriend’s family heartily help me demolish these cookies, which I can happily say were mere crumbles before the day had ended.

Zucchini cookies: a definite no-no or just the right kind of wrong?

Food, Photography

Zucchini cookies: a definite no-no or just the right kind of wrong?

Image

One thought on “Zucchini cookies: a definite no-no or just the right kind of wrong?

  1. perfectskinny says:

    yummy it looks so good just look for healthy recipes like yours. Maybe you also want my new blog perfectskinny.wordpress.com šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

